1 August 2022 –  Mayor Benjamin B. Magalong will chair two water supervisory bodies in the city – the City Water Resources Board (CWRB) and the City Water Governance Council (CWGC).

The mayor issued Executive Order No. 79, series of 2022 constituting the creation of the CWRB and the CWGC in accordance to City Ordinance No. 18-2016 otherwise known as the Environmental Code of Baguio City.

Members of the CWRB are: Councilor Benny Bomogao being the chairman of the Sangguniang Panlungsod Committee on Public Utilities, Transportation and Traffic Legislation; Dr. Rowena Galpo of the City Services Office; Arch. Johnny Degay of the City Buildings and Architecture Office; Arch. Donna Tabangin of the City Planning and Development Office; and, City Assessor maria Almaya Addawe.

The CWRB shall prepare appropriate local forms for the registration and accreditation of persons or entities necessary for inventory and monitoring of water-related activities; facilitate accreditation and issuance of clearance of water supply system and sewerage system projects within the city; and, accredit water distributors operating and distributing within the city.

The board is also tasked to issue clearances before the city water permit is issued by the city mayor to ensure compliance of water quality, design and construction, and environmental standards; assist the city council in assessing water-related projects for endorsement and in regulating excavation and drilling of ground for the laying of water, sewer and other pipes among others.

Meanwhile, the CWGC is composed of councilors Benny Bomogao with Betty Lourdes Tabanda being the chair of the Sangguniang Panlungsod Committee on Health Sanitation, Ecology and Environmental Protection; Dr. Galpo of CHSO; Arch Degay of CBAO; Arch. Tabangin of CPDO; Engr. Edgar Victorio Olpindo of the City Engineering Office; Atty. Rhenan Diwas of the City Environment and Parks Management Office; the City health Board; representatives of accredited non-governmental people’s organization; representative of the Liga ng mga Barangays; and, other agencies such as the National Commission for Indigenous People, the Department of Education, and the Philippine Information Agency.

The CWGC shall assist the CPDO and the local development council and its sub-committee for physical sector formulating local programs, projects and activities on water-related programs, city drainage system, and sewerage management.

The council shall peruse inclusion of water facilities in the Comprehensive Local Development Investment Program.

Both CWRB and the CWGC will be under same secretariat composed of Assistant CEPMO Engr. Marivic Empizo, and legal officers Atty. Isagani Liporada and Atty. Jerico Gay-ya. - JMPS